Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Kangaroos Ruled

            Kangaroo only can be found in Australia. There are over 40 different species , and over 60 species when we include Wallabies etc.They belong to "macropod" family which means "great footed". The main species of "macropods" include Eastern Grey Kangaroo, Western Grey Kangaroo, Red Kangaroo, Wallaby, Wallaroo, Forest Wallabies, Pademelons and Tree Kangaroo.

         There are estimated , 26 million Kangaroos in Australia which is more than the population of the country. The largest Kangaroo is the Red Kangaroo , it's taller than a man and weight up to 90 kg. Kangaroo can hop at up 60km/ hour and jump 9 meters along the ground. when a Kangaroo is moving slowly , it uses it's tail as a fifth leg. When it is hopping it uses it to steer and balance.

        They have excellent eyesight but only respond to moving objects. It's best to stand still when observing them at near.They also have excellent hearing and can swivel their ears in all directions. Kangaroo have more than one stomach like cattle do. This means they chew the grass and regurgitate it before it's finally digested. It's need very little water to survive and can go months without water. They used it's front paws to punch its opponent  and kicks them with it's back leg.

Australian Kangaroo
Australian Baby Kangaroo
Australian Tree Kangaroo ( almost extinct)
Other Species Of Kangaroo

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...